finding my totem

Discussion about spirit guides, angels, guardian spirits, and the like.
zena

finding my totem

Post by zena »

Hi everyone.
can anyone be of some help to me. I want to know how I go about finding my totem. I am new at this stuff. I am trying to figure some things out that have been happening to me. For instance I am seeing 333 all the time, and dragonflies are really intriguing me. I don't know if they anything to do with each other. All I know is that I have to figure this out. I have been searching for a couple years now and no one seems to have any answers.
hopefully someone can help me with this.
Zena
Comus

Post by Comus »

ohhh this sounds like a job for Comus!
Totem is an interesting concept, and one that I do not personally follow, but I did know a lady once who had an extremely strong connection to cats, and considered them her 'totem'. Basically totem is a word that has come from various indigenous cultures and has different meanings in tose cultures. It can be the symbol of a clan or family group, or the first animal an indigenous person's parents saw when they were born. But for a magickal practitioner of today 'totem' must have a different resonance, take on a mew meaning, because it is inappropriate to 'hijack' a tem from another culture and appropriate its meaning.

So:
1: Think about what this term means to you, how it might aid you in your magical practices and link you to your earthly existence. How would an animal symbol/relationship help you? What would you want to learn form it? It could serve as a reminder of the balance of life and the interconnectedess of all beings.