The most awful thing...

Discussion about pets, familiars, animal totems, animal spirits, pet ghosts, and more. All animal talk, crazy and normal, is welcome here.
Moon_Stone

The most awful thing...

Post by Moon_Stone »

Just thought I'd share this story with you guys to open it up to any thoughts you may have about it. But it's not for the faint of heart.

This morning I arrived at my office, around the usual time. I've been working here for five years or more now, and never had anything like this occur before. Sure, I've had the occasional lizard running through my office furniture and trash bins, and lots of crickets and ants, but that's been the extent of it until now.
~
As I sat down at my desk (near the window), I heard a horrible "Bang!" which scared me and made me jump from my seat. Looking out the window, I saw two things- a man sweeping the parking lot, and a pigeon who was at first standing, then flopped to his side, on the cement walkway. He flittered and flicked a couple of times, then began to open his beak to expel blood. He was suffering so terribly, right before me, and there was nothing I could have done for him.
He died there, in front of my window: his beak open, with a small puddle of blood around his head. He was on his back; wings gently spread, toes relaxed yet grasping. He had flown into my window and apparently crushed his skull. There is a mark from his body and the impact left on the glass-- I can nearly make out his head, tail and wings.

Besides this being a completely horrifying way to begin a day, I have always had birds come to me with messages. Hummingbirds often come when their message is needed, Crows as well. I have never looked too deeply into pigeons (which I'll be doing when I get home, but I'm still at the office), thus I am left wondering what message was being given to me with this terrible and mournful event.