Feeling confident in a spell or ritual

Have a question about a spell or witchcraft/Wicca? Ask it here. Those of you who like to help others can help answer questions.
Granite

Feeling confident in a spell or ritual

Post by Granite »

Have any of you had trouble feeling confident in your spells? I am still very new to Wicca and always feel a bit embarrassed trying to charge something, or put energies into something, (for example a gem or herb pouch) and feel like I can't do it, or I'm doing it wrong or something. I haven't done any spells before, only cleansing rituals or prayers, because I don't know enough or feel ready for it, and even then I can't put all my effort into it, because I just feel so silly! I think it's stunting me a lot, on top of not really knowing what I'm doing.
What did you do or would you recommend doing to get past these thoughts and feelings??
Siona

Re: Feeling confident in a spell or ritual

Post by Siona »

I think a lot of people feel similar in the beginning, and often the answer is practice, practice, and more practice. The more you do it, the easier you'll be able to feel it, the less silly things will seem, the more experiences you'll have to back up your beliefs, and so on.
SpiritTalker
Banned Member

Post by SpiritTalker »

Yea, I suspect we all wrestle with it, especially when first getting our feet wet. Shifting awareness out of the mundane and into the unfamiliar and invisible world is a new experience. The more ways you can think of to experience the invisible, the sooner the mind accepts the new and expanded reality.

So, like Siona said: practice. But it doesn't just have to be spells. Find ways to feel & move energy until you know it's real. It can't hurt to go back to basics & form an energy ball or bar between your hands. Play with until you feel it pressing against the skin. Reabsorb it.