The Importance of Closing

Post meditations or discuss consciousness exploration here.
thatguy

The Importance of Closing

Post by thatguy »

Hello everyone,

Having read through some of the posts and links related to various meditations particularly those involving the activations of chakras/energy-centers I thought I'd write a post about what I feel is one of the most important components in any meditation involving energy work.

I studied chi gong meditation for a number of years under a very competent
instructor whom I respect very highly. One of the most important aspects which was always stressed was the 'closing'. In fact, my instructor thought this to be such an important aspect that he gave us, apart from the standard closing applied to each form, a large number of other methods for 'closing' including many *forced closing* exercises (the most extreme of which was rigorous exercise to the point of physical exhaustion).

For those who may be confused by what I mean by closing, the purpose of closing is to clearly define a section of the meditation that leads up to a point where you are *done*, you are no longer meditating and your state of consciousness is back to 'normal' and 'mundane'. Any little bits of energy which may have gathered in various places on your body are re-absorbed or evenly distributed and you 'close' yourself. You're done, time to go do the laundry and pick the kids up from soccer practice.

I'm not sure how this relates to other traditions, but I would go as far as to recommend to any beginner in any tradition to avoid *any* meditation instructions which clearly don't have an ending or which leave you in an altered state of consciousness after you're done. By an altered state I certainly don't mean a feeling of relaxation and well being, there's nothing wrong with that.