Difficulty Meditating.

Post meditations or discuss consciousness exploration here.
[Haley]

Difficulty Meditating.

Post by [Haley] »

I've read loads of things on how to meditate and how your supposed to clear your my and think of nothing, and your also supposed to not sratch if you have an itch and learn to just ignore it. But I just can't do that. I try to clear my mind but the harder I try the more things I think about. Does anyone have a solution to this?
[scifichick]

Post by [scifichick] »

Maybe you are trying too hard? I'm new at this, but I've been reading somewhat as well on the topic... Do you have music on when you meditate? What do you concentrate on? For me it's helpful to bring attention to my breathing. Probably because we do that in yoga class as well. What if you try to concentrate on an image? Make a whole story (relaxing of course) in your mind? Can you stay concentrated on that? And don't push it.
Only in silence the word,/ only in dark the light,/ only in dying life:/ bright the hawk's flight/ on the empty sky. --Le Guin
[Haley]

Post by [Haley] »

I am trying too hard, that I'm trying to stop. No, no music I don't know what to put on but I know it should be relaxing and if I do puy my music on I and know the words then I start singing. Nothing, I read that you could concentrate on an apple and work from there but I always lose my concentration and give up. I don't know i'll have to try that. But is it okay if I'm not good at visualizing?
[scifichick]

Post by [scifichick] »