Ritual for Samhain

Chat about pagan and Wiccan holidays.
LonelyWolf17

Ritual for Samhain

Post by LonelyWolf17 »

So Samhain is coming up, and I remembered that one of the things you can do on Samhain is honor your ancestors. Well I've been coming across all these Honor-Your-Ancestors rituals, articles describing Samhain, and stuff like that. It's the first holiday I've wanted to participate in since I started studying wicca about five months ago, and I was wondering if, alongside honoring ancestors, you could honor friends through the same rituals as well? I have a friend who died in a crash last year, but I'm not very original when it comes to thinking up my own rituals. So I was going to try using some of the ones I've read, but they're all focused on just ancestors and I haven't seen anything about honoring friends as well. Help?
Xiao Rong
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Ritual for Samhain

Post by Xiao Rong »

Actually, I recently created this ritual for my friend, who passed away a few months ago. To put this in context, my family is Chinese-American, and some of my family members do practice ancestor worship. One thing we do is burn offerings for our ancestors (the idea being the smoke reaches them in the afterlife). You can burn anything from fake paper money to fake paper cell phones, fake paper houses, fake paper cars, etc. When I made this ritual, I wanted to use this particular tradition, but I didn't want to burn fake money because I feel like it's too materialistic. I also don't personally believe in an afterlife or that smoke transmits possessions or anything, so I adapted this ritual for my friend and to honor her.

A Ritual for a Friend's Passing

To prepare:

On a blank sheet of paper, write a letter to your friend. Write about how you miss her, your fond memories, anything you want. Fold it into an origami flower (http://www.origami-instructions.com/origami-lily.html is the one I used)