The Paleo Diet

General chit chat and discussions here.
All are welcome!
RosieMoonflower
EUTM Support
EUTM Support

The Paleo Diet

Post by RosieMoonflower »

I know this isn't spiritual but I've seen other diet posts so I hope this is okay? Does anyone have any opinions or experience with this diet? My father has been doing this diet for 10 months or so and has lost over 100lbs. My fiancé and are about to start it for the time from now until our wedding. We're going to the Dominican Republic for our honeymoon and want to be in swimsuit shape by March. So if anyone has any advice, even if it's against the diet, I'd appreciate hearing it! Thanks, all!

If you're not familiar with the diet, here are some photos to help explain. ImageImageImage
shatteredsouls

Re: The Paleo Diet

Post by shatteredsouls »

I'm no professional dietician but it looks good. Don't take TOO much of seafood, the high cholesterol problem may pop up. Do take a bit of carbo food, I don't think you can avoid it totally for months...

Oh and I'd suggest break down into smaller meals (from 3 huge meals - breakfast, lunch and dinner break down to 6 smaller meals).
Cats and Tea

Post by Cats and Tea »

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AtEubaJ30n0

I Went Paleo and Now I Hate Everything

I have my concerns surrounding the validity of the Paleo Diet. Such issues are discussed in the video I embedded. The url link is an anecdotal experience with the Paleo Diet.

I don't think that what can be accomplished with the Paleo diet can't also be accomplished with a standard diet of counting calories, eating more fruits and vegetables, and drinking more water. There are many apps to help you with counting calories.

If, however, you have your heart set on going Paleo, I would suggest going letting go of the forbidden foods one by one to make the transition easier.

Best of luck!
"You can never find a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me."
C.S. Lewis
SnowCat
Banned Member

Post by SnowCat »