Can any Candles be used?

Have a question about a spell or witchcraft/Wicca? Ask it here. Those of you who like to help others can help answer questions.
VenusRainn

Can any Candles be used?

Post by VenusRainn »

I feel like whenever I post an answer or question, that I need to explain I am a newbie in case I sound ignorant. So, be gentle if my question sounds absurd. :oops:

In the one book I have read, it talks about using candles in magic work. I was wondering if you needed to get specialty candles at places that are wiccan shops, or if you can just use your basic candle that you can pick up anywhere? Thank you much in advance.
Elem

Post by Elem »

I think the most important thing to understand is.. It's not so much the tools you're using for the spells / rituals.. It's how much of 'yourself' and your energy you put into them that controls if they work or not.

Whilst some shops might insist that their candles will make your spells '200% more efficient' :roll:, or some such similar nonsense, the truth is that spells work because you make them.. Not because of some candle :).

By all means, if you think it'll help you, go pick up some nice candles.. But, in the same way, if you're happy just using tealights.. It'll work just as well - So long as you believe it.

Just my two cents ;).

Elem

P.S. Don't ever feel absurd, ignorant or stupid for asking a question. It's the people that don't ask that're the foolish ones. We all have to start somewhere.. And willingness to ask questions is the best way to get started :).
VenusRainn

Post by VenusRainn »

Thanks! what you said makes sense. But it was something I was curious about. When I lived in a major city there was a place where I had bought some "specialty" items at before--however, they went out of buisness. And now that I live in a smaller town, which has no wiccan stores, I don't know where I would get "special" candles from now. Thanks again! :D
Ravenari

Post by Ravenari »

*bows to Elem*