How to tell my family I'm studying witchcraft?

Have a question about a spell or witchcraft/Wicca? Ask it here. Those of you who like to help others can help answer questions.
shiverlove

How to tell my family I'm studying witchcraft?

Post by shiverlove »

I'm semi-new to witchcraft. I've looked into it in the past but realized i wouldn't be able to actually practice it because my family would not approve. But now I feel like I need to, I feel like practicing witchcraft is a step I have to take in my own person journey. I also know it will be a part of my life for a really long time if not for the rest of my time here. I just don't know how to tell my family. I'm tired of hiding my BOS and teaching myself only when my family's out. I need serious help here. What should I do?

Thanks in advance!
Blessed be,
p3nathan

Re: How to tell my family I'm studying witchcraft?

Post by p3nathan »

If you don't mind me asking, why is it that you feel your family wouldn't approve?
Kitrina Mageia

Post by Kitrina Mageia »

Haha, I haven't really told my family either. But I really think how you tell them depends on 1) how you think they'll react, 2) why you don't want to tell them and 3) how you function as a family. When I decided to be pagan, I simply went out into the living room and said, "I think I'm pagan."
The reason I haven't told my family that I'm a witch is because I know they'll loose sleep over it. They won't throw me out over it, but there's enough stress on my family right now without them living in fear of what will happen to my soul if I die, you know?
Traumwandlerin

Post by Traumwandlerin »

I wouldn't have told my family, I would just stop hiding my BOS and start practicing whenever I like. But they never were interested in what I was doing and they never would have asked. And even if, just saying I'm meditating or I'm trying something or I'm starting a new secret religion to rule the world would have shut them up.