Help Me Understand the Wiccan Belief System

Discussion of the different types of witchcraft and pagan paths.
QuestionableEnergy

Help Me Understand the Wiccan Belief System

Post by QuestionableEnergy »

So how many religions are based from Wicca or the other way around. Right now I am studying the elements which keeps talking about green witchcraft..now is that another branch of Wicca? Also Celtic, rede, all these other names..I just dont get how all this works..how can you be a pseudo Christian Wiccan??? lol I made that up but after reading some of these posts I am majorly confused about how the wicca witchcraft belief system works...HELP PLEASE so that I can understand. :D
Heartsong

Re: Help Me Understand the Wiccan Belief System

Post by Heartsong »

Hi QuestionableEnergy,

I'm not sure that I can answer all your questions, but I'll try to give it a shot.

First, let me preface this by saying that, to different people, terms such as Green Witch, Nordic or Celtic Wicca, even Wicca itself, have different meanings and interpretations. Many Wiccans, although certainly not all, are eclectic, borrowing or incorporating different aspects of various religions and sub branches of religions into their own faith as it makes sense to them. For example, a person can consider her or himself to be both Wiccan and Christian because they combine elements from both faiths into a practice that works for them. They may use and believe in the bible, and go to church, but also worship the Virgin Mary as the Goddess and Jesus Christ as the God. They may not cast spells, but still work with psychic or healing energies, depending on what they feel is allowable or correct according to their interpretation of Christ's teachings.