How long should offerings be left out?

For discussion and questions about Gods and Goddesses.
Prospitdaydreamer

How long should offerings be left out?

Post by Prospitdaydreamer »

So, I've mentioned in other posts that I'm new to shrines, so like I'm kinda floating here

When you offer food and drink, how long do you keep it there? Especially with fruit, since fruit rots. I've set out water with craisins and almonds (I have to get better food soon but that's what I have now ^^") for Anubis, but I don't know when to get rid of it. And what do I do to get rid of it? Should I make a pile outside if it's food thats safe for birds or ants or squirrels or something to take? What about cakes or sweets that aren't wild animal friendly?

Also, shrines I know are supposed to stay where they are, right? Let's say you had to move your shrine, because maybe perhaps you're moving to a new home, how do you make it ok to move? Do you connect with the gods and let them know first or do they know your intention already?

And cleaning. Today, I lit an incense and when I was done I tried to snuff it out. I accidentally burned my fingers a little and I felt silly so I laughed. Unfortunately that made incense debris poof onto the rest of the shrine. I cleaned it but I had to move my little Anubis around and my stones for him and clean the little cloth. I felt bad for moving him around. Was it ok though because it was to keep him clean?

I'm probably over thinking all of this but I just want to get this right and keep Anubis happy (even though he has come off pretty chill to me but idk). Thank you <3
SpiritTalker
Banned Member

Re: How long should offerings be left out?

Post by SpiritTalker »

There's nothing wrong with moving things around to clean. The act of cleaning is a sign of respect.
Personally I'd change any food offerings daily. Rotten food is not a sign of respect. The birds and squirrels around my house love sweets.