Building an altar, help!

Have a question about a spell or witchcraft/Wicca? Ask it here. Those of you who like to help others can help answer questions.
Syndica

Building an altar, help!

Post by Syndica »

Hi there,

I am still quite new to being a witch, I was wondering what do i need to build altar. What color candles do I use?

I thought of using white, green, and purple is that a good combo?
Last edited by Firebird on Tue Oct 11, 2022 10:56 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: SpiritTalker said she edited, but this was a mess, re editing!
Greymalkin
Banned Member

Post by Greymalkin »

Why not?

You'll find plenty of 'rules' on all aspects of your craft but as always it's what feels right to you that matters most.

So long as you remember your altar is a working tool - not an ornament.

I've seen some lovely altars over the years but they are hardly used because it would be like destroying a work of art.

There's nothing wrong with making your altar pleasing to the eye but keep it a fuctional altar. It has to be used.
Twisted_Pixie

Post by Twisted_Pixie »

My altar is always 'made up' to correspond with what i am working on in that time of my life... so i chose the coloured candles, incense, herbs, etc that i need for that particular thing...

So for example at the moment, my altar is made up to correspond with motherhood and pregnancy because i am pregnant with my first kid, so i have a deep pink altar cloth to symbolise the womb, i have a painted egg with appropriate colours, an incense i made for this purpose, corresponding crystals etc etc...

So think of the stage you are in at the moment in your life and set your altar to suit, or just set it up to be an every day altar....

Your candle colours could be any combo, its ur altar afterall =)