Do I Need to Be in a Coven?

Feel free to copy this information to your Book of Shadows.
Aimhirghin

Do I Need to Be in a Coven?

Post by Aimhirghin »

Since i am New to the Witchcraft, I wonder Do i need to be in a Coven or can i be a stand alone ?
I know those who are in Wicca Coven call them self Witches and that is fine, but I am not a Wicca follower. :flyingwitch:
But i read and study Witchcraft alone. What is the term i can use of my self then?

Aimhirghin
-Dark-Moon-

Re: About Coven

Post by -Dark-Moon- »

Solitary witch. There are many of us :)
I am that which is attained at the end of desire
Aimhirghin

Post by Aimhirghin »

Thank you Dark-Moon :)

Now i have a name on it, and that is good.

Aimhirghin
Echo_of_shadows

Post by Echo_of_shadows »

Being in a coven is up to you. If you want to, there are a couple things you might want to take into consideration.
  • Do you work well with others? It's hard to adopt a ritual attitude when you'd rather have a root canal than be near Priestess Pain-in-the-boots. If you normally work alone in most areas of your life, working with a group just to celebrate sabbats or practice casting spells may become tedious.
  • Do you have the time? Getting groups of people together at the same time can be a challenge. You may have to work with someone else's schedule over your own. In some cases, communion may include cakes and coffee, especially if a group of normally diurnal people are going to be performing rituals long after sunset. Some covens make it mandatory to be present for a certain number of meetings. Failing to do so may result in the coven thinking that you aren't dedicated enough and they may ask you to leave.
  • Do you have your own transportation? Have your own vehicle will be an asset. If you don't, ask your future coven mates if they would mind giving you a lift. My former High Priestess had to pick up the rest of us for sabbats since she was the only one with a car.