How to make my bunny a familiar?

Discussion about pets, familiars, animal totems, animal spirits, pet ghosts, and more. All animal talk, crazy and normal, is welcome here.
YanaKhan

Re: How to make my bunny a familiar?

Post by YanaKhan »

Hello, Selina, when you have a moment, please go to the top section of the forum and introduce yourself, so we can get to know you better. Thanks.
Silversong
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow (if the rainbow is in Oregon)

Post by Silversong »

selinakyle13 wrote:Hi! I'm Selina. I am just starting out on my journey in the craft.
I have a pet rabbit who I would love to make a familiar (with her permission) and incorporate into my magical practices. I also used to have another pet rabbit who I sadly had to have put down, but would love to reconnect with. I feel that both of the rabbits' spirits would be wonderful guides if they are willing. How should I go about asking my living rabbit to work with me as a familiar? How do I go about getting in contact with my rabbit who passed?

If anyone out there has any advice, I would greatly appreciate it! :flyingwitch:
I don't have much first-hand experience with this, having no familiar myself, but from what I understand, you can't "make" an animal become a familiar. They either are, or they aren't, and I think the only thing you can do to tell which is true is to let them sit in on a few rituals and watch their reactions. If they seem interested or seem to try to participate, then they may be a good choice to accept as a familiar. If they're completely uninterested, you're out of luck.

Deborah Blake, a fairly popular Wiccan author (who actually does have a familiar, one of her cats), has written more about it. I'm sure other Wiccan authors have as well.
Seraphin
Location: EUTM's dungeon, keeping a dragon egg in a pot over a fireplace!

Post by Seraphin »

Seraphin

If you have any questions, please feel free to PM me.
TashaTeaLeaf

Post by TashaTeaLeaf »