Question about Guides/Working With/ect

Discussion about spirit guides, angels, guardian spirits, and the like.
Akip

Question about Guides/Working With/ect

Post by Akip »

Hi, for those of you that didn't see my introduction thread, I'm very new to wicca, and still learning. I have a question, that is possibly going to come across as a bit silly, but I'm not grasping the concept of guides very well.

I've read about people saying they have guides, and they know the name (sometimes these are names I recognise like Loki or Gaia) and other times I'm not sure I regonise the name. What exactly does it mean to have these as guides, and how would you know? How would I know?

Do you have a guide? How do you know/how did you find out? Can you sense other peoples guides?
Witchcraft-Fairy

Re: Question about Guides/Working With/ect

Post by Witchcraft-Fairy »

Basically everyone can have (inner) guides, or helping spirits, angels or whatever you might call them.

In shamanism, you can do shamanic journeys (which is sort of a phantasy journey in your mind) and find spirit animals /power animals or spirit guides with whom you can talk, ask questions about problems you have etc. What is important: These spirit creatures are always friendly and helpful, they have your well-being in mind, so if you ask them something, they will answer. They make take all sorts of forms, and some people may rather hear their voice instead of seeing them.

Some people wonder if these spirit guides, animals etc. are just in the imagination or a product of the subconscious mind.
However, when they are helpful in any way, who cares if they are imagined or not ;)

There are lots of guided meditations dealing with finding such a helping spirit, you can even find some on Youtube or elsewhere on the internet (like this one e.g.: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zav4wruv3gw)

Blessed be.
Andrea
AnaisStar

Post by AnaisStar »