Herbal help

Make your own oils, incense, dream pillows, teas, aromatics, magickally charged bath salts, candles, soap, yummy pagan holiday treats, and more!
SummertimeDime

Herbal help

Post by SummertimeDime »

Hi! So I just bought some herbs for spellwork, and it's my first time doing so! I'm wondering if I need to refrigerate my items (bay leaves, rosemary, peppermint leaves etc.) or if I should let them dry out?
Please fill me in with whatever knowledge you have to lend :)
Have a blessed day!
SpiritTalker
Banned Member

Re: Herbal help

Post by SpiritTalker »

Tips:

Everything & everyone is connected at the spiritual level.
Plants are living beings with a spiritual presence. Get to know them by using your intuition.
The principles of Magical uses of herbs are entirely different than Medicinal uses, so don't mix your purposes.
The fewer herbs you start with, the better you will learn how each works with your energy. I've found the use of just three purposes 3-Ps covers most all needs because herbs multi-task: protection (over laps with cleansing & banishing), prosperity (attracts health and abundance) & power (adds spiritual strength).

Here's a source from realsimple.com on storing fresh herbs. Anything not used within a week should be dried for future use. Shelf life is usually a year for leaves, longer for root & bark.

A fresh bunch of basil can be treated like a bouquet of flowers: Just trim the ends, place in a glass with an inch or so of water, and place on the counter at room temperature. (The leaves will turn black if refrigerated). The basil will remain fresh for anywhere from a few days to a week. You can also try this with similar long-stemmed herbs like parsley and cilantro.

Chives, Thyme, and Rosemary