Are there any forms of Shamanic divination?

For discussion and questions about divination techniques including runes, crystal ball gazing, psychic readings, dowsing, etc. Questions, answers, and talk about Divination.
Naudia Threng
Banned Member

Are there any forms of Shamanic divination?

Post by Naudia Threng »

I was recently looking into more methods of divination, and since I'm a student of shamanism, I was wondering if anyone knew of a shaman specific method of divination? I like my magick to match.
O Goddes, all praise to you. Ta em hotep, anekh hrak. Lady Isis, I adore you. Nebet aset, tu a atu.
Heartsong

Re: Are there any forms of Shamanic divination?

Post by Heartsong »

I think divination responds best when you're using a method that you are both comfortable with and that speaks to you. I've been studying various paths in the Northern Tradition for over a year, and that includes shamanism. I'm no shaman, but I felt a need to look into the Elder Futhark Runes and incorporate their use into aspects of my practice, including divination. I still use Tarot as well. I would suggest that you perhaps take some time to meditate or reflect on what types of divination speak to you and your specific path. I've often compared divination to a conversation, and just like a conversation, divination tends to be far more accurate and compelling if you "speak" with something that you have a connection with.
Dance like the Maiden
Laugh like the Mother
Think like the Crone
Draconus

Post by Draconus »

What medium works for you? That's the one you should explore first and in depth. I, also, am not a shaman but if there is a specific way that they do it... there is a possibility that you might not connect with it. Then again, maybe it's right up your alley. As with street magic that I have practiced for a looong time, once you have a trick, you don't need to go looking for a new one until you have explored all aspects of the one that works for you already.
Fjäll1291