So many questions, so little time

Have a question about a spell or witchcraft/Wicca? Ask it here. Those of you who like to help others can help answer questions.
wantingtolearn

So many questions, so little time

Post by wantingtolearn »

I am new to Wicca and Witchcraft. Before anything, I want to do some research about the subject. Call me naturally curious, I like learning, especially about things that interest me.

The first question that I have is about Candles. Well, multiple questions about them really. First, when using candles for ritual purposes, is it better to make them, or are store bought for rituals fine? If you make them, do you imprint some of your essence when you do? When you make/buy them, does it help/hurt to carve runes into the candles?

When it comes to runes, is there a respectable source that I can use to identify and define runes accurately? I found a book, and an online archive, but on some of the runes the definitions were contradictory. Runes themselves fascinate me, and all of the literature that I have read has said that it is a great and useful part of practice.

Are altars necessary for practice? Are crystals? Is an Athame necessary for practice?

For potions and spells, are there any basic and necessary ingredients that I need? Also, is there a material that is better for brewing? I.E. cast iron or pewter?

I appreciate any information that you can give me. I am not really sure of any covens near me for me to learn, so online forums are really the only place for human to human information.

Thank you for all your help and information.
SnowCat
Banned Member

Re: So many questions, so little time

Post by SnowCat »

I buy candles at the store. I have neither an altar, nor an athame. I have never carved anything into my candles. Most of what I do is internal. I tried using the altar, tools, rituals, but that wasn't a good fit for me.

Snow
Daughter of Sekhmet
EveningWithAstaroth

Post by EveningWithAstaroth »