Need some advice on a wiccan name?

Have a question about a spell or witchcraft/Wicca? Ask it here. Those of you who like to help others can help answer questions.
PhoenixSong

Need some advice on a wiccan name?

Post by PhoenixSong »

Okay, so I'm a bit new here, please forgive me if I break any rules or there's another thread where I could have put this, I did search rather thoroughly and read all the bits about the rules. :)
Anywho, I need a bit of advice.
Right now, I'm studying Wicca by myself. I have been interested in it for some years, but for a myriad of reasons, I've only recently begun my study. I went out and bought alot of books on the subject, wanting to be well informed. I worked my way through a book on the history of 'witchcraft' in general--everything that falls under than blanket term--and now I am working through "To Ride A Silver Broomstick" by Silver Ravenwolf. Unfortunately, at the moment I still cannot find someone to study under, or a coven to learn from, for many reasons, so all I have is books, and books do not speak back.
I've come to the part where you can choose your Wiccan name, which I chose to do, but I'm having some trouble.
The first was easy, once it came to me--Phoenix. It is right. And then I chose, as my sort of last name, 'firetiger'. It seemed right at the time, but now...it just doesn't work. Now, don't get me wrong, tigers--I love tigers. They are the animal that have pretty much followed me my whole life. But it just doesn't fit for who I am, as my name.