What is aspecting?

Red Ember

What is aspecting?

Post by Red Ember »

I am hoping someone here will be able to help me. I am having real difficulty in getting my head around understanding what aspecting is.

I understand it is connected to working with deity, but what I am finding difficult to understand is if it is the same thing as a medium going into trance or if its something else.

I am use to seeing spiritualist mediums go into trance and I am aware of the different levels of trance that can be worked with and developed. But I have no experience with aspecting or why a wiccan works with this method and so I can not tell if its the same thing happening by a different name or some else.

Any help would be appreciated.
If cats could talk, they wouldn't. - Nan Porter
Becks

Re: What is aspecting?

Post by Becks »

I'm glad you asked Red Ember. I have never heard this term before so I look forward to answers. Meanwhile I will google....
Seraphin
Location: EUTM's dungeon, keeping a dragon egg in a pot over a fireplace!

Post by Seraphin »

Aspecting Deities is also known as drawing down lunar and/or solar energy. It's invocation of the essence or 'aspect' of a God (the sun) and the Goddess (the moon) into one's body for a variety of spiritual purposes, such as divination, astral travel, spiritual guidance and even necromancy or mediumship. This is actually a Wiccan practice.

I always invoke the essence of my Deities but I do not call it 'aspecting' though. In the Wiccan way as far as I'm concerned, the rite always start with the high priest's invocation speech to call or draw down the energies or forces of the Goddess and let the priestess' body be filled and possessed by the divine essence. Well, I don't do that.