Unhappy Long-Term Relationship

General discussion/questions about life, death, sexuality, love, teen concerns, lifestyle, & work.
Aderyn

Unhappy Long-Term Relationship

Post by Aderyn »

I will try to keep this short and sweet. :)

I've been with someone for a few years now and this year has been very difficult for the both of us. We aren't intimate, we don't really enjoy each other's company, we are always arguing... a lot of it is financial. I have been providing for him for two years now and I'm feeling like I'm being taken advantage of; he isn't necessarily trying to get a job or unemployment, or anything that would help me when it comes to bills. I'm all for providing, but once I start to feel like I'm being taken advantage of I get real tired and irritated about it. I feel that this has been coming for awhile now; I've been feeling distant for over a year. Every time I tried to talk to him about it in the past I get the response of "I'm trying. It'll get better just give me some time." We haven't had a true discussion or argument about this until this year, which is probably why things are so hectic and strained right now. My friends have noticed I'm unhappy and I'm not sure how to go about this divorce-esque event. We aren't married, but we've had this serious relationship for a few years.

I'm tired of waiting and I'm really exhausted of spending my energy on someone in a motherly manner. He has always had trouble completing things, whether it's house chores, school work, creative hobbies, etc. I truly feel that our relationship has come to an end (even if it's just a temporary break), but I don't know how to go about initiating the change and moving forward. I'm not afraid of being alone or being single, I know it's going to hurt being separated but in the end I would rather heal and be happy than be stuck in a toxic relationship.

Thank you for listening, I appreciate it. <3

EDIT;