Many Questions, Please Help

Frequently asked questions about witchcraft, Wicca, magick, paganism, and the occult. Subjects include love spells, Ouija boards, curses, Law of Attraction, and what to do if you don't have the needed tools, ingredients, altar, etc.
Falcon_Heart27

Many Questions, Please Help

Post by Falcon_Heart27 »

Hello everyone! I'm very new to all of this, and I have some questions. I've been reading through this forum (and other sites) for a few days now, but it seems like the more I read, the more questions I have. Stepping onto this path is like stepping into a foreign country...and although I've read many interesting (and helpful) things, I have yet to find something that explains the basics. So here are my questions; please try to provide clear answers for my newbie self. :)

1. I've read that it is best to set up an altar when spellcasting. What do I need to put on the altar? Are some items optional and some necessary?

2. I've also read about using the altar as a place of worship. I personally do not believe in the God and Goddess as beings, but rather personifications of the universe and the energy that all living things possess. Do I still need to worship, and/or have statues of the deities on my altar?

3. Many spells call for candles or another form of fire. As much as I would love to do this, my parents don't allow me to have burning candles in the house. (I'm a teenage witch who is still "in the broom closet", so to speak.) Is there a good alternative? I'd love to find one, seeing as many of the healing spells I wish to learn use candles.

4. What are the most popular alternatives for some supplies I may not be able to get? What are your personal favorites? Like I said earlier, I haven't told anyone about this yet, and I may not for some time. That being said, I can't very discreetly start buying candles, stones, herbs, books, and other things. (Not to mention that it would probably drain my budget.)