Feeling disconnected and can't focus?

Post meditations or discuss consciousness exploration here.
WitchyMermaid95

Feeling disconnected and can't focus?

Post by WitchyMermaid95 »

Hi,

I'm pretty new to meditation and I've started by sitting and simply counting my breath, sometimes I breathe for 2 minutes sometimes for 10, however, I've noticed that my mind wanders fairly quickly and I just can't seem to make any sort of connection. When I am able to calm my mind enough to sit through the entire meditation and really focus on my breath, I just don't really feel and different during or after the meditation.

I’ve stopped and started meditating several times and now it's something I feel I really need and want to make a habit. I want to feel more focused, grounded and to deal with my stress better but I don't see it becoming a regular thing for me if I'm not feeling the benefits... :|

Am I doing something wrong? Is there anything I can do to feel more connected to my spirit or even just to feel something when meditating?

Thanks all!
*Witchy Mermaid*

The world is full of magic things, patiently waiting for our senses to grow sharper...
SpiritTalker
Banned Member

Re: Feeling disconnected and can't focus?

Post by SpiritTalker »

You've made a start. The breathing calms us down. It's normal for our minds to wander and it helps to give our mind something to do. We get bored. In order to stay focussed, you need to have something to focus on. So...you just need to start exploring your inner landscape and see where the trail leads. Add on one additional practice at a time until you feel comfortable with it. And don't strain over it.

Some people chant (like:Isis, Astarte, Dione, Hekete, Demeter, Kali, Inanna) or recite repetitive prayers.

Some people visualize and mentally build their secret hideaway, place of power, or astral temple. By always imagining going to the same place to meditate, we build a powerful connection.