Altar vs. Shrine?

Discussion of ritual tools and other items used in the Craft.
daisykewl

Altar vs. Shrine?

Post by daisykewl »

So I am very new to this religon and am interested in erecting a shrine/altar. I found a layout I like in the book "Wicca: A Guide for the Solitary Practitioner." There is a diagram for a shrine and an altar, which are very similar. The difference being the altar has much more things. Is there a difference? Do you, personally, have both? Can I combine them? I barely have room for one. Please and thank you :D
AdastraJunction
Banned Member
Location: This crazy place in the USA called the West Coast (Originally London, UK)

Re: Altar vs. Shrine?

Post by AdastraJunction »

You can lay yours out how ever you choose. My altar is a mix of both (I have a photo of it in the Altar photo section). I keep the main elements in any altar I create but it about how you choose to make it and what feels right for your practices. You don't have to follow it to the letter if you do not choose too, there are some people who do and some who do not.
daisykewl

Post by daisykewl »

AdastraJunction wrote:You can lay yours out how ever you choose. My altar is a mix of both (I have a photo of it in the Altar photo section). I keep the main elements in any altar I create but it about how you choose to make it and what feels right for your practices. You don't have to follow it to the letter if you do not choose too, there are some people who do and some who do not.
Thanks so much for the advice! I think I'll combine them by sliding an offering plate onto my altar:)
AnaisStar

Post by AnaisStar »

I believe you can have one for everything. That is how I do it.

But you could have an altar for "work" and then the shrine to honor deity if you want.
SpiritTalker
Banned Member

Post by SpiritTalker »