Is there any wicca books you can recommend me?

Review and recommend pagan, spiritual, Wicca, & witchcraft books.
CatXO

Is there any wicca books you can recommend me?

Post by CatXO »

I am new to wicca, I want to learn more about its practices etc. I was just wondering if there are any recommended books about it. Thanks and blessed be :D
Lord_of_Nightmares

Re: Is there any wicca books you can recommend me?

Post by Lord_of_Nightmares »

Not specifically Wicca but I recommend The complete illustrated encyclopedia of witchcraft and practical magic by Greenwood and Airey.

While, also not Wicca, it has the same base; Mastering Witchcraft by Paul Huson.

Aradia: Gospel of Witches is standard fare for those looking into Wicca since it has influenced everything.

Gardner has a few books like High Magic's aid, but his history is off because it is outdated. His book of shadows is free online.

For a sanitized but good beginner book on Wicca, check out Scott Cummingham Wicca: a guide for the solitary practioner.

His book is actually Neo-Wicca and most "Wicca" books are, especially published by Lellewyn. Wicca is intiationary and oath bound. But I think it's good for seekers to start out in Neo-Wicca and outer court material. (It is also good to be careful of people who say real witches do this and that. A real witch simply practices witchcraft and witchcraft is not synonymous with Wicca. Though Gardner started it, he was wrong.)

Oh, and I forgot Raymond Buckland's complete book of witchcraft is also good for those seeking Wicca.
I am the Earth, The Sun and the Stars
And I am the also the Moon
I am all animal and birds,
And I am the outcast as well, and the thief
I am the low person of dreadful deeds,
And the great person of excellent deeds
I am Female. I am Male and I am Neuter.
- Devi
Siona

Post by Siona »

Wicca for Beginners: Fundamentals of Philosophy & Practice, by Thea Sabin, is a very good book for those starting out.