45 Crystals (With Pictures + Tips To Identify Them)

Share photos of your own crystals here.
MistressOfTheMoon

Post by MistressOfTheMoon »

These are photos of some crystals from my collection, including their names. I am no expert but I did a lot of research so I could find out which crystals I had. The shop I buy them from doesn't have names for them which is why I have to identify them on my own. That said, I am not 100% sure about some of these crystals' names since I only use my naked eye and my phone's camera and LED flash to check for certain properties of crystals like transparency, aventurescence, etc.

NOTE: If you think I named a crystal wrong, please do speak your mind. Feel free to correct me by posting on this thread. I still have SO MANY crystals left unnamed but won't be posting them just yet.

Crystal Quartz

Green Aventurine - TIP: You can't tell it from this photo but you can identify an aventurine from its glittery effect. Shine light on it and move it around to check for these glitters. This is called aventurescence and the amount of glitters may vary from sparse to immense. No other green stone (not even real Jade) has these glitters.

Green and white Jade

Moss Agate

Labradorite - TIP: Labradorite exhibits Labradorescence. It is a fluorescent play of colors when viewed at certain angles.

Tree agate
"For the Spirit lies within."
~ Ada S.
MistressOfTheMoon

Re: 45 Crystals (With Pictures + Tips To Identify Them)

Amethyst

Lapis Lazuli - TIP: Lapis Lazuli usually contains pyrite (see those gold flecks?). This stone may not always have pyrite though. But it's the pyrite which makes it easy to distinguish from dumortierite, sodalite, and blue quartz.

Red coral

Tiger's Iron (left) contains Tiger's Eye, Hematite, and Jasper. Tiger's Eye (right) exhibits chayotancy or an optical reflection that resembles the cat's eye and includes only hematite. You can easily tell hematite from its silver-black metallic reflection when hit by light.