Asherah

For discussion and questions about Gods and Goddesses.
Amara

Asherah

Post by Amara »

I am very new to all of this. However the first time I heard of the goddess Asherah I immediately felt a pull and a connection. Is the goddess different for different people? Where can I find more information about the various gods and goddesses? There isn't a lot of information at my local library. How do I know when I have the right deity? That question is poorly worded but I don't know how else to ask. Thank you for any information you can give me
~Blessed Be~
Amara Star
SpiritTalker
Banned Member

Re: Asherah

Post by SpiritTalker »

Search on line by region or culture, such as Norse, Celtic, Assyrian, Babylonian, Egyptian, Greek, Roman, Etruscan or Irish, Scandinavian...so forth. It does not have to be indo-European regions. Or cut corners and search a phrase like Wiccan Deities. There's websites too thick to count. There are books on gods and goddesses. I know Janet & Stewart Farrar wrote 2: "Witches Goddess" and "Witches God" as summaries.

It seems every pagan is drawn to something different that pricks up their ears, makes their breath come quick, something that catches their attention. It's often both physical & intuitive, & depends on the makeup of each person. The Gods work with us where we are, just as we are. When we hear or feel them, it is not fanciful imagination, it is with our real senses and perceptions. We notice.

Pay attention to that immediate pull and connection you felt. It's a valid response. Something within you quickened. Respect it. Asherah may or may not be the final full-stop, but could lead to the next step. That's how the path works. You notice, quicken and pay attention. It's the thrill of the hunt & following the tracks.

I searched just "goddess ashrerah" and found a lot on her as the Shekinah, consort of Yahweh, Semitic deities. Perhaps their names are familiar from exposure to Old Testament stories.