Personal Musings on "Choosing" a Deity

For discussion and questions about Gods and Goddesses.
manicpixidream

Personal Musings on "Choosing" a Deity

Post by manicpixidream »

I am new. I am very new to Wicca and Witchcraft and have many questions about how to do things. I've learned very quickly that this is a path of both community and solitude due to the fact that most practice slightly differently. This frustrates me due to my background in dogmatic christianity and a certain comfort level in the dogma.

My current frustration is finding out what deity to devote myself to. I am not forever going to hold myself to one cultural pantheon, but currently the idea of the chaos of multiple is giving me much distress. And while I am not holding myself to become a monotheistic or duotheistic Pagan, I want to start with just one or two to get my feet wet, so to speak. Coming in I had my heart set on the Celtic pantheon. I like the Celtic knots and culture and I have ancestry in that part of the world.

But as I'm reading "To Walk A Pagan Path," something occurs to me: I've always had an affinity for Persephone. Not just a light affinity, either. One that permeates my spirit. I've read for hours about her mythology and scoured bookstores to try and find books on her. So this leads me to a dilemma. Do I follow my want: to follow a Celtic pantheon? Or do I follow the voice in me that tells me to lay down my pride and kneel before Persephone?

I've looked through the board archive and haven't seen any answers. Some of the books I read say to stick to one cultural pantheon, others say it doesn't matter. Right now, at the beginning of my journey, it matters to me. But it bothers me that I'll be diving into strange waters without a large community around me. I'm used to spirituality in community. So following a Goddess that is "not very popular," which I say with the highest respect and honor, is difficult for me to wrap my head around.