Family and Religon/Any Advice?

Teenagers are a special bunch with concerns different than adults. Teens can chat with each other here and learn from one another.
Sub

Family and Religon/Any Advice?

Post by Sub »

So, here's my situation. I just need to talk about this, if you don't mind. I'm not sure if you guys can help me, but if you think you can, by all means try.

So, I want to be Wiccan. I'm still studying the religion, but I'm pretty sure that's the way I want to go. But, my family is Catholic, a kind of Catholic I don't know will be okay with this.

I've said this before, but I would say the household religion is Devout Quasi-Religious Catholic. I should explain that more. You see, we're involved in the church, but we don't go to mass. That is, we volunteer at the summer festival, my sister and I are in youth group, and we go to some supplementary things, such as the Sunday school like program. But, you will never see us there on Sunday. I find this completely illogical.

I'm already a witch, because I do things such as crystal healing and Tarot. This is completely okay in their eyes. But, they discovered my interests in Wicca a while back, and they blew up. Even though I've been into witchcraft for years. :roll:

I really have no idea what to do. Anyone here with a similar experience?
Firebird
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Family and Religon/Any Advice?

Post by Firebird »

I don't have a similar experience, yet I have had several folks say they think the whole cakes and ale portion of the ceremony to be very Catholic. I'm guessing you still live with your parents, but remember that won't last forever.
Keep the charge of the Goddess idea in your head...."for no one can prevent the worship in your mind and heart" ...no one has to know unless you think you could appeal to them on a spiritual level?..... and it doesn't really sound like they practice what they preach, so maybe they would be more open than you think.
best wishes,
Firebird