*~* Witchcraft and Wicca Forum *~* EUTM

Reversed card?

For discussion and questions about the tarot.

Reversed card?

Postby Muirìn » Wed Apr 01, 2015 10:44 am

Ok, this might sound like a silly question but... how do you get reversed card?
What I mean is that, since there's art on the back of the cards, I always know what way is my deck facing. So if I get it reversed, it's kind of on purpose, because it will depend on which way I pick, turn and put my card down... So I'm a little confused :roll:

Thank you!

Bright day to all!
This is no longer my house
it's been claimed by the sea
Claimed by the sea
and it was always going to be...
Muirìn

Re: Reversed card?

Postby Blackthorn » Wed Apr 01, 2015 12:08 pm

I'm by no means an expert - I've been doing tarot on and off (mostly off) for over 10 years but I still consider myself a beginner. I'm just now learning about connecting with the deck and that sort of thing- before I was more about learning what all the cards mean, memorizing spreads, but not really connecting with the spirit-side of the deck. Anyway, that's my disclaimer.

My best explanation for reversed cards is, "it just happens!" Some of the decks I've worked with give no indication on the back what way they are facing, but even so I'm pretty careful with organizing my cards so they're all faced up. But I've still had reversed cards. When you're placing your cards, if you pick up a card that looks reversed, don't put it the right way up when you place it in your spread.

Reversed cards, for me, happen very rarely, so I always pay special attention when one shows up. Hopefully someone else can add some more informed insight to your question, but this is just my experience. :)
Blackthorn

Postby Muirìn » Wed Apr 01, 2015 6:03 pm

So what you say is that maybe I should shuffle my deck (maybe with my eyes closed) around so that some card would be upside down?